Tuesday, January 24, 2012

the running journey - one step (and wheel) at a time.

So, if you know me personally, you know that my mother is one of those health freaks. She's a psycho when it comes to exercising and eating right. As she should be, I suppose..as we all should be. Take a look at our country when you get a chance..yeahh. We're in trouble.

Anyway.

I exercise just fine, and I eat what my mom cooks which is guaranteed to never be greasy, fried, or fattening. The one thing that I don't do that she loves to do is..run.

For some people, running is like a lifestyle. I mean, they eat, sleep, and breathe running. They're those people that have 13.1, 5k, and "run for life" bumper stickers. Yeah, you probably know some. While my mom doesn't have any bumper stickers, she loves running. I..don't. For years, she's been after me to run. My argument is that I need something with more personal involvement to do. Over the years, she's realized that she can't force or coerce me into running morning, noon, or night.

Until now.


Recently, I celebrated my 16th birthday. Woo-hoo! "What's the best part about turning 16?" That's easy. License. Hello?! The thing is, once you have the license..you start wanting a car. The license, I can pay for and get on my own. Sure, thing. But the car.

Yeah, not so easy..


I'm almost 85% sure that my mom's been waiting for this moment for years. Less than 2 days after my birthday, she approached me with a deal.


She'd get me a car. Under $1000. If I'd run three times a week from now until like June.

I don't think my mom understands America sometimes..

$1000 for a car?! That's like expecting to find an iPhone laying around on the street in a puddle and expecting it to work once you pick it up.

It ain't gonna happen..

I rejected the deal..claiming that I could make $1000 in under 6 months once I found a job..

Then, yesterday, she approached me with another..bargain. If I ran five times a week, she'd give me $4000 towards a car..

I was conflicted for like the entire day..

$4000..that's enough to actually get something. That moves!


Finally, I caved.

Today, I went running..one day down..about 120 more days to go.

Like. For real.


Hahaha, I know..I pretty much got the better end of the deal. Once I get used to running (sometime around next week), it'll be a breeze. In fact, I'll probably start liking it. Who knows?


It'll be a little while..but I'll have my car.


And never go running again.

This has been Day 1 of my running journey..

More updates are sure to follow..

Like, when it actually gets easier.

Later.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave a comment! :)