Act 1 : Scene 1 : The "wake" up.
So, I had to be at RCHS to take the ACT at 8 this morning. My friend, Josh, was coming to get me sometime around 7:15. I figured I should wake up at 4:30 just to make sure I had enough time for stuff (ie..working out, curling hair..etc).. Sadly, I tend to sleep through my alarms. Being in a state of anxiety, I fell asleep for about half hour intervals. I constantly woke up to check my phone and see if I'd missed my alarm. Before I knew it, it was 4:30. It was crazy, but somehow I dragged my "high fructose corn syrup filled" (Messy Mondays. love) butt out of bed. As soon as my feet hit the floor, I knew working out was pretty much gonna kill me so I decided against it. Thus, I proceeded to crawl to my bathroom to take a shower.
Act 1 : Scene 2 : Stupid hoppers.
![]() |
| Camel Cricket. Makes me sick just looking at it. |
When I finally made the 10 foot long trek from my bed to my bathroom, I was completely freaked out by some giant grasshopper/cricket bug thing. Believe it or not, I spent 10 freakin' minutes trying to kill that nasty thing. Finally, I just gave up and decided I'd make another 'hike' to my brother and sister's bathroom. It's a miracle I made it up the stairs, in the dark, as tired as I was. Thankfully, I didn't find any creepy, crawly thing waiting for me in their bathroom and I got my shower. Hallelujah.
Act 1 : Scene 3 : I'm my own "Cinna".
![]() |
| Gold eyeliner. Winn. |
Like most people, I have my own personal rituals to getting ready. First, I start by finding what I'm gonna wear. This could take me anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour. Yeah, I'm picky. This morning it took a good thirty minutes before I was content with my..ensemble ;) Then, I continued on to makeup. Making my eyes look..un-sleepy. BareMinerals is the way to go people. Just sayin'. Finally, I took off what my friends have come to call my "turban" and started working with my hair. Lately, I've gotten into this wavy thing I can do with my flat iron. It's not amazing, but it works for me. I spend about 30-45 minutes on my hair when I flat iron it and stuff. I'm not a fan of high maintenance, though. (Which is why I'm working to get my 'fro' :)
Act 1 : Scene 4 : Josh, darn your punctuality.
![]() |
| Not much has changed since 3 years ago............Everything has changed. |
As I said before, my friend Joshua was coming to get me for the ACT in the 7:15-ish area. I was ready by 6:45. I was proud. Amazed, that I'd actually managed to be completely ready on time. Silly me. If I finished getting ready early enough, I had promised myself I would "rest my eyes" for a few minutes. And look! I had 30! Woo, right? First, my dad sat and prayed with me about the test. Cool beans. After that, it was only 7. I still had a solid 15 minutes, which is still more than what I'd expected in the first place. As soon as my dad said "Amen", we heard the roar of an engine. Josh had arrived.
End of Act 1.
Act 2 : Scene 1 : You've got to be kidding me?!
Josh and I killed an hour of time by going to a gas station and waiting inside the school. When registration finally began, I was like "yes, here we go!". Then, I got up to the table. A requirement for taking the ACT is to have an official picture ID. I thought I was set. I had my permit. No big deal. So, I got up there and found out that they aren't actually supposed to accept permits as "acceptable" ID. I almost fainted. I did NOT wake up at 4:30 for nothing! Thankfully, they relented. Good thing too. Like two of my other friends only had their permits as well.
Act 2 : Scene 2 : Messing with hair. Growling stomachs. Sharpening pencils.
Earlier in the week, my friend David had been teasing me about being "distracting". Apparently, I mess with my hair a tad much. He told me not to mess with it during the test. Ok. Easy enough. We got into the testing room and the first person to do anything even remotely distracting was David ;) The crazy squeaking sharpener. Either everyone went into that test on an empty stomach or people's nerves were giving them indigestion. Talk about growling stomachs. It was like a symphony in there..
Act 2 : Scene 3 : "Free at last! Free at last!"
After testing for five hours, we were done! We had all planned on going out for lunch and later going to a movie. And that's what we did. We went to Taco Bell. Got some food. Played twenty minutes of four square and headed to the movie theater. The car ride to the movie theater was, hands down, my favorite part of the day. Riding in Rach's bug, with the top down, singing One Direction at the top of our lungs. Hair blowing everywhere. Hahaha, we must have looked so cool ;) The movie. The Three Stooges. There are no words to describe how bad it was. To be honest, I'm thankful our amazingly generous friend, Matthew, bought our tickets. I would've been disappointed with myself if I'd spent money on seeing it. And we all agree! It was and, quite possibly will remain, the worst movie of 2012 thus far.
Act 2 : Scene 3 : Cookout. Home. Lazyy.
After going to the movies, we usually go to Cookout. It's like walking distance from the theater. And who doesn't love Cookout?! We stood outside, drank our beverages, (milkshakes, sweet tea :) and talked about the passing cars. Josh made fun of the way I talk and hated on my mad driving skills! Same old, same old. Although today, he "branched" out and made fun of my roots along with roots of Northern trees. We're making progress? We eventually got tired of standing outside of Cookout and it was time to leave. Matthew dropped me off at my house, and here I've been..
Lazy. Not wanting to do a thing. I've been going since 4:30 AM. It should be completely understandable.
End of Act 2.
Credit for the idea of "Act" goes to David Jones. Haha..
Laterrrr.








No comments:
Post a Comment
Leave a comment! :)